Fox News Flash top headlines available. Take a look at what’s going on

Edmonton Oilers Captain Connor McDavid won the voting to win his second Hart Trophy for NHL MVP. He did it just like he blew away all the competition and was the league’s leader in points.

McDavid became just the second unanimous Hart selection — joining Wayne Gretzky in 1982 — in receiving all 100 first-place votes from members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.


Because of the pandemic coronavirus, the NHL has presented its awards online for the second season in succession. In previous years, the awards ceremony was held in Las Vegas with an audience and players present.

McDavid doubled up on honors by also winning his third Ted Lindsay Award as the league’s most outstanding player, which is voted on by NHL players.

McDavid was 24, and had also been awarded MVP honors in 2017. In six seasons, McDavid won the Art Ross Trophy for leading the NHL’s scoring with 105 points (33 goals and 72 assists in 56 games). McDavid was beaten by teammate Leon Draisaitl (84), with Boston’s Brad Marchand at 69.

Auston Mathews of Toronto came in second place, following by Nathan MacKinnon (Colorado).

Vegas’ Marc-Andre Fleury beat out Tampa Bay’s Andrei Vasilevskiy and Colorado’s Philipp Grubauer to win his first Vezina Trophy as the NHL’s goalie of the year. The Golden Knights tandem of Fleury and Robin Lehner already won the William M. Jennings Trophy, for combining to allow an NHL-low 124 goals this season.

The 36-year-old Fleury finished third in the NHL with 26 wins, a 1.98 goals-against,.928 save percentage and six shutouts in 36 games. He also closed the season with a nine-game winning streak, while moving into third place on the NHL career list with 492 wins.

New York Rangers’ Adam Fox won Jack Norris Trophy as NHL’s best defenseman. He beat Tampa Bay’s Victor Hedman, and Colorado’s Cale Makar. The 23-year-old Fox led NHL defensemen with 42 assists and second with 47 points.

He was also seventh among skaters on ice-time. Fox became the second Norris winner in his second season. He was joined by Bobby Orr, who won in 1968.

Hedman, who received the award in 2018, was a finalist a fifth time, matching the longest streak since Nicklas Lystrom, a Swede from 1998 to 2003, which was six years.

Minnesota’s Kirill Kaprizov won the Calder Memorial Trophy as rookie of the year in becoming just the fourth rookie since 1993-94 to lead his team in scoring. Russia’s 24-year old was the NHL rookie leader with 51 goals and 27 assists. He was also the first Wild player to win Calder.

Carolina goalie Alex Nedeljkovic and Dallas foward Jason Robertson were the other two Calder finalists.

The Oilers players have now won the Hart in three of the past five years, with Draisaitl winning it last year.

Draisailt informed McDavid about his winning both awards.

“To have your fellow peers recognize you, it means a lot. McDavid expressed his gratitude for the award, saying that he feels humbled and thankful to have received it a few times. He also thanked Draisaitl individually for contributing to his point production.

The NHL has previously announced other winners. Rod Brind’Amour, Carolina’s coach of year, won the Jack Adams Award, while Lou Lamoriello, New York Islanders general manager of year, was awarded the Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award.


Florida’s Aleksander Barkov won the Frank J. Selke Trophy as the NHL’s top defensive forward, and Carolina defenseman Jaccob Slavin won the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy for sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct.

Oskar, a Philadelphia cancer survivor, was this years’ recipient of the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy. This trophy is awarded to a player who shows perseverance and dedication in hockey.

Patrice Bergeron from Boston received the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award. Matthews was named the Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy winner for leading the NHL’s 41-goal league.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *